After your arrest for drunk driving, you naturally worry that the Massachusetts penalties for this offense will destroy your life as you know it. Losing your driver’s license will make it impossible for you to retain your employment, as you have no other means to get to and from work. We at the law office of David B. Zirlen often assist people with a DUI arrest to regain their driving privileges.
Because legislators understand that people need to be able to work, they created loopholes in the Massachusetts driver’s suspension laws through the Cinderella license. This hardship license allows eligible drivers to be on the road for 12 hours during the day.
According to the Massachusetts Registry of Motor Vehicles, you must meet certain requirements based on the specific charges you face. For example, if this is your first OUI offense, your criteria will be different from a second or subsequent offense.
Regardless of the charges, one of the qualification criteria is that you have already completed any and all suspension periods that apply from this or other offenses. Another common eligibility requirement is that you have evidence of a real hardship. You will have to go to your employer and get a letter on company letterhead that states your work hours and the necessity for you to have a hardship license. This must be turned in within 30 days of acquiring it.
Even if you do everything right, the RMV may still turn down your application based on its assessment of the facts of your case. More information about seeking a hardship license is available on our webpage.