Massachusetts takes enforcement of drunk driving laws seriously. Police can be zealous in arresting drivers suspected of drunk driving, and prosecutors can be very tough when prosecuting charges. For that reason, it is important for accused drivers to be familiar with the potential penalties they are facing and how to protect themselves from them.
Penalties for drunk driving
Drivers accused of driving under the influence can face jail time, fines and potential license suspension associated with the charges they are facing.
- Jail time: Drivers accused of drunk driving are facing jail time ranging from up to 2 1/2 years for a first offense; 60 days to 2 1/2 in prison with a minimum of 30 days served for a second offense; and 180 days to 5 years in prison with a minimum of 150 days served for a third offense.
- Fines: Drivers accused of drunk driving face possible fines ranging from $500 to $5,000 for a first offense; $600 to $10,000 for a second offenses; and $1,000 to $15,000 for a third offense.
- License suspension: drivers accused of drunk driving face license suspension for 1 year for the first offense; 2 years for a second offense; and 8 years for a third offense.
Drunk driving charges in Massachusetts can leave an accused driver facing significant jail time. They may also be forced to pay a steep fine and lose the use of their driver’s license for a substantial period of time. It’s also important to note that the penalties get much more severe for subsequent offenses.
Defend your rights
All those accused of a crime have the right to a defense. When the penalties are this serious, it’s especially important for the accused to get serious about their defense. An attorney with experience in drunk driving defense can explain one’s rights and their legal options for defending their rights, their money, their driving privileges and their future.